First Day of School

Kids have many milestones in their first few years of their lives.  Crawling, walking, talking, saying mommy and daddy, and the first day of school.

It happened for us yesterday.  My little girl had her first day of school experience. She did exceptionally well!  On the way to school we were talking about all the things they expected from her, like walking in class instead of being carried, carrying your own backpack,  say “hi” to your teacher as soon as you enter your classroom.  When we got to school, she did everything we talked about.  She was such a big girl!  It was a really weird feeling for me to leave her but my husband told me we had to go so we told her we loved her and to have a good day.  She was jumping up and down, overly excited about being at school.  No tears from Isabella but I can’t say the same for me.  I definitely had an emotional moment.  I felt silly as I walked down the halls to get to my car.  I was supposed to be the big girl and in return my little 2-year-old did a much better job than me.  When I picked her up she was super excited to see me and asked me “you’re not sad anymore mommy”, when I told her no she hugged me and said, me too.

Our first day of school experience with our baby went really well this time.  Actually, it was perfect.  I hope never changes.


My big girl

Holding back my tears

Leave a comment